17 Hours on a plane

The day before leaving for Peru I was at Manchester airport scared that my plane to Barcelona was going to be cancelled. There had been a bomb scare at the airport in the morning leading to it being evacuated and the chaos from this carried on into the afternoon. My mums flight was supposed to leave after mine however my flight was delayed 3 times and I ended up flying an hour after her. If my flight was cancelled I don’t think I would have made it to the flight to Peru the next morning.

First was a 10 hour flight from Barcelona to Miami, next a 6 hour flight from Miami to Lima and finally an hour and half flight from Lima to Cuzco. When we arrived at cusco we were offered coca leaves because of the altitude.  We collected our cases (yay they didn’t get lost) and headed out to find Natalia the lady from the association that was coming to pick us up.

IMG_5317

On the way to miami

She was very nice and I noted that contrary to Spain they only give one kiss here instead of two. We took two taxis to get from Cuzco to Urcos where we are staying, it took about an hour. I do admit that I kept falling asleep in the car as I was so tired but of what I did see was beautiful, the mountains, lakes with steam coming off them. And the not so beautiful the houses, half built, most abandoned or falling down. I must comment also on the driving, everyone trying to take over each other, I swear we drove over what seemed like a motorway at some point and there wasn’t a road sign in sight the whole car journey.

When we arrived at the organisation’s headquarters where we are staying there was tea waiting for us and we were told we could rest until Monday. At 1 o’clock we were called for dinner, we met all the team that work here. They seemed really nice and told us all about what we’d be doing here. We ate rice and vegetables. After that I didn´t feel very well, I’m not sure whether it was the altitude or the tiredness but I slept until the next day, didn’t even wake up to have tea. So not the best first day.

IMG_5322

View from our apartment window

Leave a comment